Ahmedabad has bagged a prestigious international award for the successful implementation of the first full-fledged bus rapid transit system, Janmarg.

The ‘Sustainable Transport Award 2010’ was handed over to Ahmedabad city officials, in the presence of the visiting Union Urban Development Secretary, M. Ramachandran, at a function on the sidelines of the 89th annual meeting of the Transportation Research Bureau here on Tuesday.

Each year, the Sustainable Transport Award is given to a city or major jurisdiction that has a profound impact on lessening the impact of climate change and enhances the sustainability and liveability of its community or region through innovative transportation strategies that increase mobility for all, while reducing transportation greenhouse and air pollution emissions, and improving safety and access for bicyclists and pedestrians.

The past winners of the award include Mayor Michael Bloomberg of New York (2009); Mayor Bertrand Delanoe of Paris (2008); Mayor Ken Livingston of London (2008), Mayor Jaime Nebot Guayquil of Ecuador (2007); Mayor Myung—Bak Lee of Seoul (2006) and Mayor Enrique Penalosa of Bogota (2005).