Sixteen presiding officers were removed in four constituencies of North 24 Parganas district today on receipt of several complaints, during the third phase poll in West Bengal.

Election office sources said the presiding officers of Bagda, Bongaon, Gaighata and Bidhannagar assembly segments were replaced by others following complaints by agents of an opposition party that they were violating procedures which might influence voters.