The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) that is eyeing to break the barrier of 272+ seats and win majority on its own in the coming Lok Sabha polls has pulled out all the stops for giving further thrust to the ‘Modi for PM’ campaign.

To begin with, all paid party members from panchayat-level upwards to MPs will donate their one month’s salary for the party's ambitious mission.

The announcement was made on Thursday after a meeting of the office bearers and ahead of the three-day brainstorming sessions that begin in the Capital on Friday to thrash out the BJP’s strategy for the 2014 general elections.

While the National Executive of the BJP will meet at the NDMC Convention Centre Friday, the bigger National Council will discuss the strategy at Ramlila Maidan on Saturday and Sunday.

The party will move economic and political resolutions on Friday, which will be discussed before being placed before the National Council meeting.

After a meeting of the office bearers, top party leaders will attend the day-long National Executive meeting. A large number of BJP workers from across the country are expected to attend the two-day National Council meeting.

“The online donation campaign ‘Modi for PM’ has received a tremendous response from the public in the last three days. The party has now decided that to take the campaign forward, all 1,30,000 members who are paid like village panchayat members, MLA, MLCs, and MPs will donate their one month’s pay for the campaign,” said national spokesperson Sudhanshu Trivedi. He, however, could not provide details of how many people contributed or the quantum of collection so far.

Mr. Trivedi said during the meetings discussions will focus on issues of political and economic significance including national and internal security, corruption, price rise and inflation.

“The party will bring two resolutions — one political and one economic— which will be moved by Ravi Shankar Prasad and Prakash Javadekar respectively. And after discussion and finalisation will be put forth at the National Council by Leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj and Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitely respectively,” he said.

More In: National | News