Election Commission representative reviews poll preparations

Women outnumber men among voters in Thrissur district for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Of the 23,30,441 voters from the district, 12,20,217 are women. The number of voters in the district for the 2009 Lok Sabha elections was 21,14,215.

The Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency has 12,73,724 voters for the upcoming elections. Of them, 6,68,326 are women.

Preparations reviewed

Election Commission of India Director General Ashish Srivastava on Sunday reviewed preparations in the district for the Lok Sabha elections. He told officials to be extra vigilant in problem-prone areas. “Communication systems in all polling booths should be faultless,” he said.

He said that officials should ensure that the model code of conduct was enforced. He stated that officials should prevent possible use of money, liquor and clothes to influence voters.

He held talks with representatives of political parties, including V. S. Sunil Kumar, MLA, M. P. Sukumaran, Sheikh Mohammed, P. K. Subramanian, M. G. Pushpangadan and P. R. Ravindran.

General Election Observer Sivaji R. Dow, District Collector M. S. Jaya, Commissioner P. Prakash, Superintendent of Police N. Vijayakumar and Sub-Collector Mir Mohammed Ali took part in the meeting, held at Ramanilayam.

The public may lodge complaints over phone or e-mail with the Election Observer (0487-2338600. campofficeramanilayam @gmail.com). They may meet the General Observer at the Ramanilayam between 2 p.m. and 5 p.m. The public may also provide information to the Election Expenditure Observer (cellphone number: 09490173505).

Scrutiny of nominations

The nominations for Lok Sabha elections submitted to the District Collector will be scrutinised on Monday.

General Election Observer Sivaji R. Dow told a meeting of officials held at the Collectorate that more election observers would be posted in the district, if needed. “The district administration should take steps to ensure that elections in the district are peaceful. Voters should be able to exercise their franchise without fear.”

The district administration has instituted the Sukumar Sen Rolling Trophy for the college in which the highest number of students cast their votes, according to District Collector M. S. Jaya.

This was to fulfil the Election Commission of India’s objective of increasing youth participation in the country’s democratic process, she said.

Colleges may submit the number of students above the age of 18 and related details to tsrcoll.ker@nic.in and subcollectorthrissur @gmail.com, before April 10. For details, contact 9447736010.

The following are the number of voters in the Assembly constituencies in the district (in the order of the total number of voters, men and women): Chelakkara: 86,553; 94,296; 1,80,849; Kunnamkulam: 85,716; 93,903; 1,79,619; Guruvayur: 87,895; 98,381;1,86,276; Manalur: 92,849;1,03,996;1,96,845; Wadakkanchery: 87,808; 96,309; 1,84,117; Ollur: 88,091; 93,153; 1,81,244; Thrissur: 77,994; 86, 056;1,64,050; Nattika: 86,135; 98,599; 1,84,734; Irinjalakuda: 84,658; 94,839; 1,79,497; Puthukkad: 87,776; 93,302; 1,81,078; Chalakudy: 86,448; 92,223; 1,78,671; Kaipamangalam: 74,101; 84,304; 1,58,405; Kodungallur: 84,200; 90, 856; 1,75,056.