V. Muraleedharan was formally elected Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s Kerala unit President on Wednesday.

He succeeds P K Krishnadas.

The election of Mr. Muraleedharan, the lone contender for the top party post in Kerala, was announced by the party’s Minority Morcha President Syed Shahnawas Hussain, who is the Returning Officer for the organisational polls in Kerala, at a State Council meeting here, party sources said.

Mr. Muraleedharan, earlier held the post of Vice-President. His election to the post became certain after senior BJP leader P. P. Mukundan, a strong challenger for the top post, opted out of the race.

Mr. Muraleedharan, who had successful stint as all India General Secretary of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarti Parishad (ABVP), the BJP’s student wing during 1994-96,is reported to have strong backing of the RSS.

More In: Kerala | National | States | News