LDF boycotted elections after polling commenced

The United Democratic Front panel won the Kasaragod District Cooperative Bank elections, which was boycotted by the opposition Left Democratic Front (LDF) members three hours after the polling began on Sunday. The LDF boycotted the election accusing the bank officials of manipulating the voters’ list.

In the polling held at the District Cooperative Bank hall here, 380 representatives of 451 member societies cast their votes. Of the 16 positions of board of directors, the UDF won 15. Of this P. Madhavan Nair (UDF) and V.K. Balakrishnan of the LDF were elected unanimously earlier.

The LDF members took out a protest march from the polling station, alleging widespread irregularities. The UDF refuted the claim alleging that the boycott was held foreseeing defeat in the crucial poll. Official sources said 399 of the 451 voters were issued authorisation cards to take part in the electoral process and 380 members exercised their right to franchise. The scrutiny that followed decided to allow 12 of the 15 such primary societies to take part in the poll process, a senior bank official told The Hindu.

More In: Kerala | National