The Mar Thoma Sabha Prathinidhi Mandalam elected Oommen George and Varghese Mathew as bishops on Tuesday.

The parliament of the Mar Thoma Church will on Wednesday consider the Episcopal nomination of K.V. Varkey who could not secure the 75 per cent votes required in the election held at Dr. Alexander Mar Thoma Auditorium in Thiruvalla on Tuesday, church sources said.

Fr. George of Kottakkad Putheveettil at Kannankode near Adoor now functions as secretary to Philipose Mar Chrysostum, senior Metropolitan of the church. He is also the vicar of the Mar Thoma churches at Chirayirambu and Pularikad near Kozhencherry.

Fr. Mathew of Kalayil Kannanpoikayil at Thumpamon is the vicar of Ebenezer Mar Thoma Church, Othera.

The consecration of the new bishops will be held later, the sources said.

More In: Kerala | National