Congress members owing allegiance to the ‘A’ and ‘I’ groups on Friday held separate functions to celebrate the party’s 128th anniversary.

Outgoing District Congress Committee (DCC) president V. Balaram cut a cake at a function attended by ‘I’ group members at the DCC office. Therambil Ramakrishnan, MLA; Mayor I. Paul; and the former Minister K.P. Viswanathan were present.

‘Strengthen party’

Inaugurating the function, Cooperation Minister C. N. Balakrishnan called for added efforts to strengthen the party.

Later, when asked by reporters, the Minister declined to comment on the controversy over the nomination of the Thrissur DCC president.

“I am not K. Muraleedharan. As a disciplined party worker, I do not want to make a public statement. The decision of the high command cannot be questioned. K. Karunakaran had played a major role in the development of the Thrissur DCC. Hence, reactions from his supporters against the nomination are natural. Such exchange of views will help the party grow,” he said.

Youth Congress

Members of the ‘A’ group celebrated the party anniversary at a function held at the Thekke Gopura Nada under the banner of the Youth Congress.

O. Abdurahman Kutty, DCC presidential nominee, lit the traditional lamp to inaugurate the function. Freedom fighter Kuzhur Raghavan Nair cut a cake. P.A. Madhavan, MLA, delivered the keynote address. Youth Congress Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency president and district panchayat member T.J. Saneesh Kumar, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee general secretary M.P. Jackson, joint secretary M.R. Ramadas, Youth Congress former State general secretary John Daniel and Anil Akkara were present.

More In: Kerala | National