Speeding up of twelve express trains running to and from Kerala is the highlight of the new railway time table that would come into effect from November 1.

The introduction of the new railway time table done on July every year could not be done this year due to the elections to the Parliament. The timings as per the new railway time table that would come into effect from Sunday will be applicable till July 2010, railway sources said.

New trains

The introduction of the new trains, including the 2284/2283 Nizamuddin-Ernakulam Weekly ‘Duronto’ Express via Konkan Railway, announced in the budget to the State will be notified later. The timings of the new trains to be introduced and those to be extended have been included in the time table released on Friday.

However, the 2076/2075 Thiruvananthapuram–Ernakulam–Thiruvananthapuram Jan Shatabdi Daily Express was extended up to Kozhikode from August 15.

12 trains speeded up

Railway sources said the 6328 Thiruvananthapuram-Korba Express will be speeded up by 60 minutes, the 2522 Ernakulam-Barauni Express by 35 minutes, the 1098 Ernakulam-Pune Express by 35 minutes, the 2685 Chennai Central-Mangalore Central Express by 35 minutes and the 6318 Jammu-Tawi Kanyakumari Himsagar Express by 30 minutes from November 1.

The 2217 Kochuveli-Chandigarh Kerala Sampark Kranti Express will be speeded up by 20 minutes from Sunday, the 2508 Guwahati-Ernakulam Express, the 2512 Thiruvananthapuram-Gorakhpur Raptisagar Express (both 20 minutes) and the 2483 Kochuveli-Amritsar Express by 15 minutes.

The popular 6305 Ernakulam_Kannur Intercity Express will be speeded by 10 minutes, the 6302 Thriuvananthapuram-Shornur Venad Express by 10 minutes and the 6627 Chennai Central-Mangalore Central West Coast Express by 10 minutes.

The train numbers of 2653 Kochuveli-Chandigarh Weekly Express on Saturday has been changed as 2217 with effect from December 5 and the 2654 Chandigarh- Kochuveli Weekly Express on Wednesday had been changed as 2218 with effect from December 2.