M.S. Ajoykumar's work ‘Angane Oru Mampazhakalam' has won the Prize for Children's Literature (story/novel), 2011, instituted by the State Institute of Children's Literature. Sreedharanunni has bagged the prize for poetry for his collection of poems ‘Manjakkilikal.'

K. Sreekumar's ‘Lokabalakathakal' won the prize in the category of adaptations from puranas, epics, and folk tales. The P.T. Bhaskara Panicker Prize for science writing went to G. Unnikrishnan for his book on space travel (‘Bahirakasathekku Oru Yatra'). Keezhar Murali was chosen for the Abraham Joseph Prize for drama for his play ‘Ambedkar.'

The names of the other winners follow with the title of their book in brackets: Biography/autobiography: Neelan (‘V.T. Bhattathiripad'); Scholastic literature: S. Santhi (‘Anyam Ninna Jeevikal'); skit: K.P. Muraleedharan (‘Madapravinte Mutta Kalanjupoya Katha'); Illustratration: Devaprakash (Anayum Thayyalkaranum); and production/design- ‘Kerathile Sadharana Pakshikal' published by the State Institute of Children's Literature.

Announcing the awards, Minister for Culture K.C. Joseph said here on Tuesday that the awards would be presented at a function in Kottayam on May 11 in which 150 books of the institute would be released. Finance Minister K.M. Mani would give away the prizes. Each prize carried Rs.10,000, a citation, and a sculpture.