The Parliament Standing Committee for Centrally-sponsored Schemes headed by Sumithra Mahajan, MP, visited the district on Friday to study the implementation of various schemes of the Union government.

The committee held discussions with district panchayat president T.N. Khandamuthan, vice-president Subida Isahaq, District Collector K.V. Mohan Kumar, Shafi Parambil, V.T. Balram, MLAs, and others at the district panchayat conference hall.

The members of the parliamentary committee who attended the meeting are Makhansingh Solanki, Ganga Charan, Jagadeesh Sharma, Anusooya Yukhi, Jagadanand Singh, Usha Varma, Mohan Singh, Kodikunnil Suresh, Sanjay Dhotre and Gobind Chand Naskar.