The newly elected members of local self-government institutions will be sworn in on Monday.

About 21,000 representatives of the people to the local bodies will take the oath at functions to be organised in the morning. While the swearing-in will begin in panchayats at 10 a.m., it will start only at 11.30 a.m. in the cities and towns.

The returning officer will administer the oath to the eldest member of each panchayat and municipal body. The eldest member will then administer the oath to others.

The swearing-in of members of the Kozhikode Corporation Council and Koyilandy and Vadakara municipalities in Kozhikode district too will take place at 11.30 a.m.. However, the swearing-in of members of the three-tier panchayats in the district will commence only at 4 p.m.

In the case of certain local self-governments, the terms of which are not expiring by November 1, the swearing-in will take place only at later dates.

The newly constituted panchayats and municipalities will elect their presidents and chairpersons respectively at meetings to be held from 8 a.m. on November 8. Their deputies will be elected in the afternoon (3 p.m.). The election of Mayors of city Corporations is scheduled for 9 a.m. on November 9. Deputy Mayors will be chosen in the afternoon.