TheCPI(M) state committee member and former MLA M V jayarajan will be the party nominee from Kannur for the next month’s assembly by-poll while CPI has declared its youth leader G Krishnaprasad as the LDF contestant for the Alappuzha seat.

The CPI(M) is yet to decide on its candidate for the prestigious Ernakulam seat.

The three by-polls were necessitated due to resignation of sitting Congress members -- KV Thomas (Ernakulam), K C Venugopal (Alappuzha) and K Sudhakaran (Kannur) -- consequent to their election to the Lok Sabha.

Jayarajan’s candidature was finalised by CPI(M) district secretariat on Friday. The CPI state executive which met here on Saturday chose Krishnaprasad for the Alappuzha seat.

The CPI(M) sources said former Kochi mayor K Balachandran was among front runners for the Ernakulam seat.