The Kerala State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC) will roll out Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) low-floor air-conditioned buses from Thiruvananthapuram to Ernakulam and from Ernakulam to Kozhikode, Nilambur, Pala, Kottayam and Thodupuzha from Monday onwards.

The KSRTC is launching the services using the 8 JNNURM low-floor air-conditioned buses that had joined the fleet.

“The low-floor air-conditioned buses are being used to connect cities for the first time in the State.

“We are hopeful of a good response to the services,” said chairman and managing director of KSRTC K.G. Mohanlal.

74 buses in all

With this, the number of JNNURM low-floor air-conditioned buses in the fleet has gone up to 74.

As many as 48 buses of the fleet will be stationed in Ernakulam.

The remaining buses will be stationed in Thiruvananthapuram, Mr. Mohanlal said.

The low-floor air-conditioned buses launched under JNNURM are already a big hit in Thiruvananthapuram and Kochi.


The service from Thiruvananthapuram to Ernakulam and back via Kollam and Alappuzha will be at 5.30 a.m., 11.30 a.m. and 5.30 p.m. Of the eight new air-conditioned low-floor buses that had joined the fleet, two will be used to run services between Thiruvananthapuram and Ernakulam.

The KSRTC service from Ernakulam to Kozhikode and back via Thrissur will be at 5.30 a.m. 11.30 a.m. and 5.15 p.m.

The service from Ernakulam to Nilambur and back via Thrissur, Shornur and Perinthalmanna will be at 6 a.m., 11.30 a.m. and 5.30 p.m.

The service from Ernakulam to Kottayam via Vaikom will be at 6.30 a.m., 10.40 a.m., and 3.20 p.m.

From Kottayam, it will run at 8.30 a.m., 1.20 p.m. and 5.20 p.m. The buses will run from Ernakulam to Pala via Piravom and Koothattukulam at 6.15 a.m., 10.30 a.m. and 5.10 p.m. In the return direction, the service from Pala to Ernakulam will be at 8.10 a.m. 1.20 p.m. and 7.10 p.m.

The bus service from Ernakulam to Thodupuzha via Muvattupuzha will be at 7.25 a.m. and 5.25 p.m.

The service from Thodupuzha to Ernakulam will be at 10.15 a.m. and 8 p.m.