Idukki resends its sitting MLAs


All the sitting MLAs in Idukki district have won the Assembly polls giving a verdict in opposite to the last local bodies elections where the United Democratic Front (UDF) had a clear edge. The sitting MLA, S.Rajendran of Left Democratic Front, (CPI (M)), won with a margin of 4078 lead in Devikulam constituency defeating the UDF candidate (Congress) A.K.Mony. Mr Rjendran polled 51849 votes against A.K.Mony's vote of 47771 votes.

In Udumbanchola constituency, K. K.Jayachandran of LDF, (CPI (M)), won 56923 votes with a lead of 9833 against UDF candidate Josey Sebastian who polled 47090 votes.

E.S. Bijimol, LDF (CPI) retained the Peerumade constituency with a lead of 4777 votes against UDF candidate E.M.Augusthy. Ms Bijimol polled 56748 votes against E.M.Augusthy who polled 51971 votes.

Roshy Augustine of UDF (KC-M) won the Idukki constituency by a lead of 15806 lead. He polled 65734 votes against LDF (CPI-M) candidate C.V.Varghese who polled 49928 votes.

In Thodupuzha constituency P.J.Joseph of UDF, who was with the LDF before the merger of Kerala Congress (Joseph) with the Kerala Congress (Mani), won by a margin of 22868 votes. He polled 66325 votes against LDF supported independent candidate Joseph Augustine who polled 43457 votes. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate P.M.Velayudan polled the highest votes of 10,049 votes in the constituency from the district.

The elections give enough hint that that anti-incumbency factors which are evident in the assembly polls in the State has not affected this time. The clear verdict in favour of the sitting MLAs is a sign in this direction.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 22, 2017 8:28:21 PM |