The recruitment process in the Police department would be updated so as to avoid any time lag in filling vacancies, said Home Minister, Kodiyeri Balakrishnan.

The Minister was inaugurating the newly constructed Police Circle Office at Adoor on Tuesday.

According to him, it takes two to three years for filling a retirement vacancy in the Police department. The government is planning to update the recruitment process so that the retirement vacancy of police personnel could be filled the very next day of retirement, Minister said.

Mr Balakrishnan said the Public Service Commission should make necessary arrangements in advance to fill the vacancies, foreseeing the retirements in the police force.

7000 vacancies

The Minister said vacancies of as many as 7000 police constables across the State would be filled soon and advice memo would be sent to the candidates in October itself.

He said computerisation of all police stations, with broad band connectivity, would be complete in a time-bound manner. Mr Balakrishnan said the community policing, Janamaitri scheme, introduced in as many as 42 police station limits across the State has already got national and inter-national acclaim and the scheme would be extended to more police stations.

He said the eight-hour duty scheme would be extended to more police stations. The Minister said government was planning to set up facility for Narco Analysis at Thriruvananthapuram Medical College as part of fine-tuning the scientific investigation capability of the State police. He said the Health Secretary has been directed to submit a detailed report to the Government in this regard soon.

Integration of police

Mr Balakrishnan said the government has already sought report from the Director General of Police on the proposed integration of the general executive wing of the police with the District Armed Reserve as part of improving the efficiency of the police force.

He said steps would also be taken to clear the apprehensions, if any, of the general executive wing in this regard.

Mr Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan, MLA, presided the function. Mr Jacob Punnose, DGP, Mr K..Chellappan, District Suerintendent of Police, Mr V.Ajith, DySP, Ms A.Santhakumari, District Panchayat president, Mr

A.P.Jayan, vice-president, Ms Jessie Baby Palavila, Adoor municipal chairperson, Mr K.Ananthagopan, CPI(M) district secretary, Mr R.Unnikrishna Pillai, State committee member, Mr D.K.John, Kerala Congress(Joseph) State general secretary and Mr T.R.Ajithkumar, BJP district president, also spoke.