Nominees of UDF and its allies elected chiefs of municipalities

The Congress and its allies captured power in all four municipalities of the district while the CPI(M) retained power in the district panchayat in the elections held for chairpersons and vice-chairpersons here on Monday.

In the district panchayat LDF nominee T.N. Khandamuthan was elected president with 17 votes as against 11 votes won by his rival candidate Abdul Khader of the United Democratic Front. The outgoing chairperson, Subida Isahaq, was elected vice-president.

In the elections held for the chairpersons and vice-chairpersons of the municipalities of Palakkad, Shoranur, Ottapalam and Chittur-Thathamangalam, the UDF and the Janakeeya Vikasana Samithy (JVS) supported by the front captured power.

Palakkad municipality

In Palakkad municipality, Congress candidate Abdul Khudoos defeated BJP nominee N. Shivarajan by a margin of nine votes. The Congress nominee received 24 votes as against 15 secured by the BJP candidate. The nine-member-strong Left Democratic Front and an Independent member abstained from voting. Three votes were invalid. IUML's S. Saheeda was elected vice-chairperson. She received 25 votes as against 15 of BJP candidate Premila Sashidharan.


In Shoranur municipality, M.R. Murali of the JVS (formed by the former CPI(M) leaders) was elected with the support of the UDF as chairman.

Mr. Murali, a former chairman of Shoranur municipality, received 17 votes as against 13 votes secured by LDF's K. Krishnadas. BJP candidate Rugmini won three votes in the first round and got eliminated for the second round.

T. Seena of the Congress elected vice-chairperson of the municipality.


In Ottapalam municipality, Congress candidate Rani Jose was elected chairperson with 17 votes as against LDF candidate Subida's 15 votes. The UDF was supported by CPI(M) rebels in the council. P.M.A. Jaleel of the Congress was elected vice-chairman.


In Chittur-Thathamangalam municipality, Congress candidate V. Sumathy was elected chairperson. She got 26 votes as against three votes won by M. Deepa of the CPI(M). Congress candidate M. Shankara Menon was elected vice-chairman.