The Cabinet formed a subcommittee with the Health Minister V. S. Sivakumar as convenor to study the recommendations of the S. Balaraman Committee on wages and services conditions of nurses and take decisions.

Finance Minister K. M. Mani, Industries Minister P. K. Kunhalikutty and Labour Minister Shibhu Baby John would be members of the committee, Chief Minister Oommen Chandy told the media after the Cabinet meeting.

The Cabinet sanctioned 180 posts for the 30 new villages formed as part of the policy to have a village office in every panchayat, and 50 posts for the University of Health Sciences. It permitted additional staff to be recruited to health services for four months in view of reports of increasing incidents of fever in different parts of the State.

The Cabinet decided to regularise the services of teachers in non-vocational subjects appointed to vocational higher secondary schools on consolidated pay. They would get same benefits as teachers of vocational subjects.

It approved proposals for revision of pay scales of staff in the State Backward Classes Development Corporation, Agency for Non-Conventional Energy and Rural Technology on the lines of recommendations of recommendations of the 9th Pay Revision Commission. AICTE scales will be sanctioned to lecturers in aided polytechnics under Higher Education Department.

The Cabinet approved the memorandum and articles of association of the proposed rice biopark and coconut biopark and sanctioned three posts for starting operations. Administrative sanction was accorded to the proposed bridge across Karikode stream at Kamballur in Kasaragod district at a cost of Rs. 11 crore.