Kerala Cabinet gave formal approval for the Budget proposal for formation of 12 new taluks in the State on Wednesday.

The proposed taluks are Manjeswaram, Vellarikundu, Thamarassery, Iritty, Kondotty, Pattambi, Konni, Kattakada, Varkala, Chalakudy, Idukki, and Punalur.

Chief Minister Oommen Chandy told the media after the Cabinet meeting that a new headquarters would be built for the Pathanapuram taluk in Pathanapuram town. Currently, the taluk office is functioning in Punalur. That office would become the headquarters of new Punalur taluk.

The Chief Minister said that there had been demands for more new taluks inside and outside the Assembly. The proposals would be examined by a special committee.

Mr. Chandy said that collectors of Kasaragod, Kannur and Kozhikode districts had been asked to submit reports on the loss caused by heavy summer rains and winds in those districts. Action would be taken based on the reports. Reports had also been sought from collectors concerned about the sea erosion in Kollam and Alappuzha coasts.

New Collector: Mr. V. Mohan would be appointed as new collector of Kollam. L. Radhakrishnan, returning from deputation, would be posted as Principal Secretary (Home).