National » Kerala

Updated: June 15, 2012 08:18 IST

Neyyattinkara by-poll: all set for counting of votes

Roy Mathew
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  

The counting of votes in the by-election from Neyyattinkara Assembly constituency, held on June 2, will begin at 8 a.m. on Friday.

The trends are expected to be available soon after the commencement of counting on the official web site, and the result would be out in a few hours.

Security and other arrangements are in place for starting of the counting to be held at the Swati Tirunal College of Music in Thiruvananthapuram.

The by-election had seen an intense contest. Though 15 candidates were in the area, the contest had effectively turned into a triangular fight among R. Selvaraj (Congress) of the ruling Front, F. Lawrence (CPI-M) of the Opposition Front and O. Rajagopal of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The constituency had seen a high voter turn-out with the polling percentage crossing 80 following a spirited campaign. The election issues ranged from political murders by CPI(M) and defection of Mr. Selvaraj from the CPI(M) to dominance of Muslim League in the ruling Front and development of the constituency.

More In: Kerala | National
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor






Recent Article in Kerala

File photo of a government-owned liquor outlet in Athani, Kerala. Photo: K.K. Mustafah

​Kerala HC approves State's liquor policy

The Oommen Chandy government has received a shot in the arm with a Division Bench of the Kerala High Court approving the State's liquor... »