12 new taluks to be formed in Kerala


Finance Minister K.M. Mani has announced that 12 new taluks will be formed in Kerala.

The new taluks are Manjeswaran, Vellarikundu, Thamarassery, Iritty, Kondotty, Pattambi, Konni, Kattakada, Varkala, Chalakudy, Idukki, and Pathanapuram.

Extending his Budget proposal of double stamp duty on resale of land within three months of purchase, the Minister said that registration of transfer within three to six months of purchase would attract one-and-a-half times the normal duty.

Mr. Mani said that Rs.13.85 crore would be provided to meet the tender excess for the renovation of the Ernakulum market and the Broadway Heritage programme. The Japan International Cooperation Agency-funded drinking water scheme would be extended to Cheranallur in Kochi.

Correcting an announcement in his Budget speech that the pension for coir workers would be raised to Rs.400, Mr. Mani said the pension would actually be raised from Rs.400 to Rs.500. The pension for cashew and handloom workers and fishermen would also go up by Rs.100.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 19, 2017 9:36:45 AM |