Vokkaligas dominate JD(S) list


As anticipated, Vokkaliga community dominated the first list of candidates released by Janata Dal (Secular) on Friday. Of the 122 names, Vokkaligas got lion’s share with 37 seats. various Lingayat sub-sects followed with 26 seats.

While Muslims got 10 seats, Kurubas and Brahmins got nine and three seats respectively. Rest of the 47 seats allocated to Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes and other backward communities.

The JD(S) has given ticket to all sitting legislators except Maddur MLA Kalpana Siddaraju. Three former police officers — Subhash Bharani, Abdul Azeem and M.C. Narayana Gowda — are contesting from Gandhi Nagar, Hebbal and Chickpet respectively.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 22, 2017 4:08:44 AM | http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/vokkaligas-dominate-jds-list/article4585541.ece