Heavy downpour in Koyna catchment area has increased the rate of inflow to Krishna river to 1.47 lakh cusecs, leading to a rise of 3 feet in the water-level of the river. Several bridges have submerged in Belgaum as a result.

According to official sources, ten bridges in Belgaum district have been inundated, including eight in Chikkodi taluk.


With the water-level rising further, the Kudachi bridge across Krishna river, that connects Kudachi with Ugar, has submerged. The overflowing Ghataprabha river has submerged the Gokak-Shingalpur bridge. The backwaters of Dudhganga river has severed the road connectivity between Shiradwad and Janawad in Chikkodi taluk.


The other seven bridges in Chikkodi taluk, namely the Kallol-Yadur across Krishna river, Sadalga-Borgaon and Karadga-Bhoj across the confluence of Vedganga and Dudhganga rivers; Bhojwadi-Kunnur, Sidnal-Akkol and Jatrat-Bhivashi bridges across Vedganga river and Malikwad-Dattawad bridge across Dudhganga river, besides the bridge across Malaprabha river in Khanapur town, remained submerged due to heavy rainfall.

As the alternative roads are open, the district administration has appealed to people to make use of them.


Meanwhile, six houses collapsed in the district due to continuous rainfall.

While three houses have collapsed in K.K. Koppa and one each in Anagol and Kanabaragi in Belgaum taluk, one house has collapsed in Raibag taluk. The district administration has submitted a proposal seeking Rs. 10 crore from the disaster management wing of the Revenue Department.

Deputy Commissioner N. Jayaram clarified the district administration had the required resources to manage the flood situation.

He said had submitted a proposal to the State government for additional relief works.


According to officials, in the last twenty four hours, Belgaum has received the highest rainfall at 41.3 mm followed by Khanapur (40 mm), Chikkodi (17.2 mm), Bailhongal (15.3 mm), Raibag (10.6 mm) Athani (8 mm), Savadatti (6.2 mm), Hukkeri (6.1 mm) and Ramdurg (2.5 mm).

More In: Karnataka | National