Chairman of Karnataka's Legislative Council D.H. Shankara Murthy on Saturday said that he would issue notices to the five MLCs, whose disqualification had been sought by the ruling BJP for allegedly indulging in anti-party activities.

Mr. Murthy, who was addressing a press conference in Bangalore, said the BJP had lodged a complaint to the Legislative Council Secretariat against MLCs Bharati Shetty, B.J. Puttaswamy, Mumtaz Ali Khan, Mohan Limbikai and Shivaraj Sajjan for participating in the Haveri convention of Karnataka Janata Party led by former chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa on December 9.

The complaint lodged by BJP spokespersons Ashwathnarayan and Sommanna Bewinmarada had sought the disqualification of the MLCs for their anti-party activities. The BJP MLCs requested the Chairman to take suitable disciplinary action against them for flouting party discipline.

Mr. Murthy said that he would follow the procedure laid down in the Business Rules of the Legislative Council and accordingly issue notice to the members seeking clarification from them.

More In: Karnataka | National