B.R. Satyanarayana of the Janata Dal (S) was elected president of the Hassan Zilla Panchayat in the election held here on Wednesday. Mr. Satyanarayana, elected from Salagame ZP constituency in Hassan taluk. His tenure lasts till October 16, 2012.

The post was vacant after the previous president, B.D. Chandre Gowda, resigned.

Regional Commissioner M.V. Jayanthi conducted the election.

She declared Mr. Satyanarayana president as he alone had submitted nomination papers.

Speaking to presspersons, the new president said during his tenure he would give priority to drinking water, road and education.

Hitherto, he was the chairman of the standing committee on education in the ZP. He said he would continue with several initiatives including audio-visual teaching in select schools.

Keywords: Janata Dal (S)

More In: Karnataka | National