The Karnataka Samskrit University is holding its second annual convocation ceremony on June 14. It will be presided over by Governor H.R. Bhardwaj, who is also Chancellor of the university.


The highlight of the event will be the award of Doctorate of Literature (Vidyavachaspati) to Sanskrit scholar Balachandra Shastri Joshi of Dharwad, K.S. Varadachary of Mysore, K. Narayana Shastri Bucchan of Honnavar and M. Shivakumaraswamy of Bangalore.

An official release said that 249 undergraduate (Vidwanmadhyama) degrees and 166 postgraduate (Vidwaduttama) degrees will be awarded during the ceremony, which will also see special awards being presented to nine students who have secured ranks.


The university, which was set up in May 2010, is now in an expansion mode. It is going to start a Ph. D. programme from the coming academic year and also a special evening college for working professionals. The evening college will offer degree courses for starters, and aspirants for the evening course will also have to compulsorily learn Kannada and English. The convocation ceremony will be held at 11 a.m. at the Jnana Jyoti Auditorium of the Central College.