Mahadevappa of the Janata Dal (S) is Deputy Mayor

M.C. Rajeshwari of the Congress was elected Mayor and Mahadevappa of the Janata Dal (S) Deputy Mayor in the mayoral elections here on Monday.

The Mayor's post was reserved for Scheduled Caste (woman) and the Deputy Mayor's for Backward Classes ‘A' category.

Seventy-eight members, of whom 65 are councillors, have voting rights. The Congress has strength of 23 followed by Janata Dal (S) with 18 and the BJP with 17. There are seven Independents.

Ms. Rajeshwari and Mr. Mahadevappa were elected to the council in 2007. Ms. Rajeshwari was president of the MCC Taxation and Appeals Committee for 2011-12, while Mr. Mahadevappa was president of the Accounts Standing Committee for 2010-11.

Congress member Mahadevamma (ward no. 50) gave some anxious moments to Ms. Rajeshwari by remaining in the fray even after election officer and Regional Commissioner M.V. Jayanti provided five minutes for one of them to withdraw.

But when the impasse continued, a decision was taken to ask members to raise their hands to indicate their choice.

Not one member supported Ms. Mahadevamma, whereas 48 members raised hands against her. As many as 22 members, including those of the BJP, remained neutral.

Ms. Rajeshwari (Ward no. 23) received 47 votes. No one voted against her. At this, Ms. Jayanti announced Ms. Rajeshwari's election as Mayor.

Mr. Mahadevappa (Ward no. 25) and M.K. Shankar of the BJP (Ward no. 16) were in the fray for the Deputy Mayor's post.

Mr. Mahadevappa, who had the Congress' support, got 47 votes, while Mr. Shankar secured 21.

As many as 47 members did not exercise their franchise.


The newly elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor were garlanded by their supporters, who burst firecrackers outside the MCC premises in celebration.

Speaking to presspersons later, both Ms. Rajeshwari and Mr. Mahadevappa said they would accord priority to drinking water supply and the overall development of the city.

Ms. Rajeshwari said she would utilise the Central funds effectively to ensure the development of the city and also complete the ongoing works on schedule. She thanked the party leaders for her victory.

Mr. Mahadevappa stated that he, along with the Mayor, would strive to make Mysore corporation a model.

The term of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor would end on February 17, 2013, Ms. Jayanti announced.

More In: Karnataka | National