With M. Mallikarjun Kharge being allotted the Railways portfolio in the Union Cabinet reshuffle on Monday, the Ministry has returned to Karnataka after a short gap.

Monday’s reshuffle has also increased the number of Ministers at the Centre from Karnataka to five, with Oscar Fernandes being given the Roads and Highways Ministry portfolio.

The Railways has been with Karnataka on and off since 1963. H.C. Dasappa, C.M. Poonacha, Kengal Hanumanthaiya and C.K. Jaffer Sharief are among those from the State who have held the portfolio.

Basanagouda R. Patil Yatnal and K.H. Muniyappa have also been Ministers of State for Railways.

Mr. Kharge’s move to the Railway Ministry is seen as the party high command’s “reward” for his loyalty.

More In: Karnataka | National