Over 90 per cent of the candidates who contested the May 5 Assembly polls from the nine constituencies in Gulbarga have filed details of the expenditure to the authorities.

Friday was the last day to file the information. As per the details available, Municipal Administration and Wakf Minister Qamar-ul Islam, elected from Gulbarga North, incurred the highest expenditure of Rs. 10.27 lakh.

Ajay Singh, who won from Jewargi constituency, follows Mr. Islam with an expenditure of Rs. 8.79 lakh. Dattatreya C. Patil Revoor, who won from Gulbarga South, has shown an expenditure of Rs. 8.76 lakh. Next is Sharan Prakash Patil, Minister of State for Medical Education Minister, who contested from Sedam and recorded an expenditure of Rs. 7.28 lakh.

Priyank Kharge, contesting from Chittapur, incurred an expenditure of Rs. 6.13 lakh.

Five-lakh mark

Other winners who reported significant expenditure returns are the former Minister Malikayya Guttedar (Rs. 5.99 lakh), the former Minister G. Ramakrishna (Rs. 4.73 lakh), and B.R. Patil (Rs. 4.72 lakh).

Umesh Jadav, who won from Chincholi, recorded the lowest expenditure of Rs. 4.21 lakh.

More In: Karnataka | National