Nine personnel of the Karnataka Home Guards and Civil Defence Department have been selected for the President’s Home Guard and Civil Defence Medal for meritorious service. The medals will be presented on Saturday. ACcaording to a press release issued here on Thursday, the selected personnel are: Jalal Sab Huded, second-in-command (Koppal district); M. Narasimhaiah, platoon commander (Bangalore Urban); M. Karunakaran, senior platoon commander (Bangalore Central); Yallappa C. Hulikal, company commander (Yadgir); Sudarahsn Rao Gaikwad, Instructor (Mandya District); Ashok Laxman Singad, platoon commander (Bagalkot district); N. Venkatarama Reddy, head constable (HG & CD Academy, Bangalore); Ravindra B. Shabadhi, company commander (Gulbarga); and Venkatamma, sergeant, Mandya district.

More In: Karnataka | National