Reports that the All India Congress Committee (AICC) has approved names of some candidates who have allegedly worked against the interest of the party has intensified discontent and a group of party workers on Tuesday held a demonstration in front of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee office here.

Though KPCC vice-president B.L. Shankar had made it clear that no aspirant had been given ticket by the party and it would only be announced after a couple of days in New Delhi, some party workers, said to be supporters of Yeshwantpur leader K.C. Prabhakar came to the KPCC and demanded that he should be fielded from the constituency.

According to sources, however, the party was likely to allocate the constituency to Bangalore District Congress Committee president H.T. Somasekar, who was defeated in the last elections by a slender margin by the then Energy Minister Shobha Karandlaje. The latter is likely to contest from Rajajinagar. The group also demanded that Tejaswini Gowda, former MP, should not be fielded from Bangalore South Assembly Constituency, alleging that she had been working against the party in the last few months.

Fierce competition among workers, and MLAs from both the BJP and JD(S) wanting to join the Congress, is creating heartburn among the loyalists of the party.

More In: Karnataka | National