Though 13 MLAs of the Bharatiya Janata Party responded to the call by Karnataka Janata Paksha president B.S. Yeddyurappa to quit on Wednesday, their dilemma was apparent.

While 14 MLAs assembled at senior leader C.M. Udasi’s residence to prepare resignation letters, there were only 13 who entered the Speaker’s office. Hallyal MLA V.S. Patil was missing.

Some of Mr. Yeddyurappa’s loyalists who kept away were C.C. Patil, Srishyalappa Bidarur, and Ministers Murugesh Nirani and M.P. Renukacharya.

More In: Karnataka | National