With just two months remaining in the current financial year, no money has been spent from the grants provided to legislators to take up works in 19 out of the 42 Assembly constituencies coming under the jurisdiction of the Hyderabad Karnataka Area Development Board. According to the official document available on expenditure incurred for taking up works identified by legislators till the end of December 2012, in the 19 Assembly constituencies, including nine Assembly constituencies in Bellary, Gulbarga South and Gulbarga North in the district; Manvi and Sindhanur in Raichur district; Aurad, Bidar and Bidar South Assembly constituencies in Bidar district; Jagalur in Davangere district; and Surpur in Yadgir district, no funds had been utilised.


Surprisingly, even in constituencies of Ministers, including Surpur in Yadgir district represented by Small-scale Industries Minister Narasimha Naik; Vijayanagar in Bellary district by Tourism Minister B.S. Anand Singh; Bellary city by KMF chairman G. Somshekar Reddy; and Bellary Rural by the former Minister B. Sriramulu, the expenditure incurred for works identified by them in the current year was nil.

No senior HKADB official was available for comments on why no funds had been spent on works.

Documents available with The Hindu reveal that there was a gap between the allocated funds for works identified by the legislators and the expenditure incurred from 2008–09 to 2012–13. Against the total allocated funds of Rs. 32.22 crore for the nine Assembly constituencies in Gulbarga from 2008–09 to 2012–13, the expenditure incurred till end of December, 2012 was Rs. 20.66 crore.

Similarly, for the seven Assembly constituencies in Raichur district, the HKADB had sanctioned Rs. 23.22 crore, but the expenditure so far was only Rs. 13.6 crore; for the nine Assembly constituencies in Bellary district Rs. 23.72 crore was sanctioned, but till December 2012 only Rs. 14.67 crore had been spent; and for the five Assembly constituencies in Bidar district, Rs. 19.53 crore was sanctioned but till the end of December 2012, only Rs. 12.16 crore had been spent.

The situation was better in Koppal district, for which Rs. 15.73 crore was sanctionedand till December 2012, Rs. 10.84 crore had been spent. For the two Assembly constituencies — Jagalur and Harapanahalli — in Davangere district, which comes under the HKADB, Rs. 5.17 crore was sanctioned, and Rs. 3.62 crore had been spent.

The HKADB had sanctioned Rs. 13.71 crore for the four Assembly constituencies in Yadgir district from 2008–09 to 2012–13 and till end of December 2012 Rs. 8.63 crore had been spent.

More In: Karnataka | National