The National Investigating Agency (NIA) on Wednesday filed a charge sheet against 12 of the 15 arrested terror suspects in a special NIA court in Bangalore.

The three others, city-based journalist Muthi-ur-Rahman Siddiqui, Yusuf Nalband, and Ejaz Ahmed Mirza, who was working in the DRDO, have not been included in the charge sheet.

Fifteen persons have been arrested so far in the case while the remaining 10 accused are absconding.

The NIA investigation disclosed a conspiracy to commit terrorist activities in India by a Lashkar-e-Taiba-supported network of terrorists based abroad and their associates in India in Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Maharashtra.

The accused persons planned to kill prominent politicians and journalists in Bangalore, Hubli, Hyderabad and Nanded, an official release from the NIA said.

The 12 persons named in the charge sheet are Shoaib Ahmed Mirza alias Chotu, Abdul Hakeem Jamadar, Riyaz Ahmed Byahatti, Mohammad Akram alias Khaled, Ubedullah Bahadur alias Imran,Wahid Hussain Kanakyanavar, Zafar Iqbal Sholapur, Mohammad Sadiq Lashkar, Mehboob Bagalkote, Zakir alias Ustad, Obaid-ur-Rehman and Nayeem Siddique.

More In: Karnataka | National