It is a problem of plenty for the new Chief Minister, Siddaramaiah, with many senior leaders from the Gulbarga region vying with one another for a place in the new Council of Ministers.

Of the 13 Assembly seats in Gulbarga and Yadgir districts, the Congress bagged 10 and among the winners, except the first-time MLAs, Priyank Kharge, Ajay Singh and Umesh Jadav elected from Chitapur, Jewargi and Chincholi Assembly constituencies, respectively, the others who have been elected are senior legislators who have reached the Assembly more than twice.

Front runners

The front runners now are Malikayya Guttedar, Sharanprakash Patil, Qamar-ul-Islam, and G. Ramakrishna. In Yadgir district, all the three winners, A.B. Maalakaraddy, Baburao Chinchansur and Raja Venkatappa Naik, are in a close race for a place in the Ministry.

More In: Karnataka | National