Results of all 223 Assembly constituencies will be known by noon on Wednesday, Chief Electoral Officer Anil Kumar Jha told presspersons here on Monday.

Counting would commence at 8 a.m. in all 36 centres in different parts of the State.

Mr. Jha monitored arrangements made to media personnel at the Vartha Soudha on Bhagwan Mahaveer Road and said huge display screens would be erected at Press Club here, counting centres in Bangalore and for media personnel at Vartha Soudha here.

The Information Department has made all arrangements, including Wi Fi facility, for both electronic and print journalists, N.R. Vishu Kumar, Director of the department, said.


The total cash seized by the authorities during the run up to the elections was Rs. 21.44 crore, liquor 1.27 lakh litres (worth Rs. 7.97 crore) and other items seized valued at Rs 6.22 crore. The number cases booked with regard to illegal movement of liquor was 2993, the CEO said.

Security in Bangalore

The Bangalore police have made elaborate security arrangements to safeguard the electronic voting machines stored at five counting centres across the city.

While EVMs of seven constituencies of Bangalore Urban are kept at V.H.D. Home Science College on Seshadri Road, EVMs of four constituencies in Bangalore Rural are stored at R.C. College on Race Course Road.

Counting centre for seven constituencies in BBMP (Central) have been established in Mount Carmel PU College on Palace Road while the counting centre for seven constituencies of BBMP North has been established at Maharani’s Arts College on Palace Road.

For seven constituencies in BBMP South, counting centre has been established in SSMRV College in Jayanagar 4th T Block.

Additional Commissioner of Police , Kamal Panth said that around 200 police men have been deployed at all the centres and security has been arranged in three layers at each centre. Five police personnel have been deployed in each layer, he said.

More In: Karnataka | National