The university headquartered in Bijapur will now serve the entire State

After years of persuasion, Karnataka State Women’s University (KSWU), Bijapur, is on the verge of realising its dream of extending its jurisdiction to the whole State, as the government has given the go-ahead to a long-pending proposal.

The only women’s university in the State, and the sixth in the country, has been seeking the government’s clearance to extend its jurisdiction to the entire State for several years now.

10 years

“The university has completed 10 years of service; the decision of the government is no less than a gift for the 10 eventful and successful years,” said Meena Chandavarkar, vice-chancellor of the university.

Speaking to The Hindu, she said that the university had limited its services to 101 women’s colleges in 13 districts of north Karnataka now.

“As the university is meant to serve the entire State, it is logical that its jurisdiction should be extended to the entire State and not restricted only to north Karnataka,” Prof. Chandavarkar said.

She said that to extend the university’s jurisdiction, the government has decided to establish an extension centre at Mandya.

The government has earmarked Rs. 30 crore for the extension centre. She said that this centre will help in extending educational courses in the central and the southern parts of the State.

Stating that the university has over 22,000 students, she said that after the extension, the strength will exceed 60,000 as 100 more colleges will come under the university. To a question, she said that the university has submitted a proposal to the Higher Education Ministry to permit the establishment of three regional centres — one each at Hubli, Shimoga and Mangalore.

“If these centres come into existence, then it will greatly help students of all areas of the State as they need not to come to Bijapur for any of their academic work,” she said.

She stated that after the setting up of more regional centres, the university could start more departments in various subjects based on students’ needs.

The university has 30 departments now, she added.

More In: Karnataka | National