In a major initiative to ensure certain services to citizens, the Karnataka Assembly on Wednesday unanimously passed ‘The Karnataka Guarantee of Services to Citizens’ Bill, 2011’

The bill seeks to provide guarantee for 152 services in 11 departments, Law and Parliamentary affairs Minister S Suresh Kumar, who piloted the legislation for consideration and passage, said.

The departments coming under the Bill’s purview are the Urban Development Department, Bangalore Water Supply and Sewerage Board, Municipal Corporations, Revenue, Home, Education, Health and Family Welfare, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj, among others.

Among other provisions, the government has specified time-limit for issue of birth and death certificates, sanction of building plan in sites upto 2,400 square feet for single residential dwellings, permission for issue of new or additional water connection and issue of driving licences.

The bill also provides for payment of compensation at the rate of Rs 20 per day by the designated officer or his subordinate public servant who fails to deliver citizen related services in the stipulated time to the applicant.

Mr. Kumar said the legislation offers more services compared to Delhi which provides 82 services from 11 departments.