Karnataka government today agreed to allow diversion of 2.626 tmc of water to Anantpur district of Andhra Pradesh.

Following a request by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy to his Karnataka counterpart B S Yeddyurappa, the Tungabhadra Board has agreed for diversion of 2.626 tmc of water to meet the drinking water needs of three water supply schemes in Andhra Pradesh, an official release said.

Mr. Reddy had called up the Karnataka Chief Minister on Friday and sought diversion of water from K C Canal quota.

The water is required for drinking water needs of Anantpur town and Satya Sai Rural Water Supply and Sri Rami Reddy Drinking Water Schemes.