Congress vote share in Bangalore Rural LS constituency is 54.94 per cent

The calculations of the Janata Dal(S) went wrong in the Bangalore Rural Lok Sabha constituency, where Anita Kumaraswamy, wife of the former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy, contested against D.K. Suresh, brother of Congress leader D.K. Shivakumar.

The Janata Dal(S) managed to keep a lead only in the Ramanagaram Assembly segment within the constituency — Congress 62,070 votes and Janata Dal (S) 65,849 votes — with the Congress leading in all other segments.

In the entire Lok Sabha constituency, the Congress humbled the Janata Dal(S) by a margin of 1,37,009 votes. Its vote share was 54.94 per cent and the Janata Dal(S) had to be content with 41.09 per cent.

In the Assembly elections in May, the Janata Dal(S) won in three Assembly segments (Magadi, Ramanagaram and Kunigal), while the Congress wrested Kanakapura, Rajarajeshwarinagar and Anekal constituencies. The other two constituencies (Channapatna and Bangalore South) went to the Samajwadi Party and the BJP, respectively. As expected, in the Lok Sabha bypolls, the Congress maintained a huge lead of 51,852 in Kanakapura, represented by Mr. Shivakumar (Congress 1,00,703 and Janata Dal(S) 48,851), and in Channapatna, the Congress polled 72,894 and the Janata Dal(S) 59,927 votes.

Though the Janata Dal(S) appeared to have an edge in Magadi, the Congress recorded a marginal lead of 4,256 votes even there where it got 72,443 votes as against the 68,187 votes of the Janata Dal(S).

The situation was similar in Kunigal. Though the Janata Da(S) has an MLA there, and it had also garnered the support of Krishnakumar of the BJP, the Congress achieved a lead of 4,898 votes (Congress 56,340 and Janata Dal(S) 51,442).

In Bangalore South, despite the support of BJP leader R. Ashok and MLA M. Krishnappa, the Congress succeeded in recording a lead of 24,313 votes (Congress 78,994 and Janata Dal(S) 54,681 votes).

The Congress, which won in Anekal with a margin of over 40,000 votes in the Assembly elections, succeeded in recording a comfortable lead of 37,221 votes (Congress 78,738 and Janata Dal(S) 41,517 votes).

More In: Karnataka | National