One hundred candidates are in the fray in six segments

As many as 100 candidates are in the fray in six Assembly constituencies in Kolar district. While 202 nomination papers were filed, 70 of them were rejected and 32 candidates withdrew their papers, thus leaving 100 people in the fray, District Electoral Officer D.S. Vishwanath told presspersons here on Saturday.

Here are the number of candidates who are in the fray for the May 5 Assembly elections in Kolar district: Srinivaspur-10, Mulbagal (SC)- 22, Kolar Gold Fields (SC)- 22, Bangarpet (SC)- 14, Kolar- 17 and Malur- 15. It will be a multi-cornered contest in all the six Assembly segments.

Nominees from the Congress, the Janata Dal (Secular), BJP, CPI, CPI (M), RPI, AIADMK, KJP, Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha, Lok Satta Party, SJP besides a number of Independents are contesting in the district.

The district administration is gearing up for holding fair and peaceful elections, Mr. Vishwanath said. A training programme for presiding officers will be conducted on April 22, he said. As many as 1,400 micro observers have been appointed ensure that the polls are held in a peaceful manner, he added.

Steps are being initiated to motivate the voters to exercise their franchise. Distribution of pledge cards to the parents through students was one such programme. While 28,000 cards have been distributed till date, 80,000 more will be distributed soon, he said.

Chickballapur district

As many as 83 candidates remained in the final fray for May 5 Assembly elections from five constituencies in Chickballapur district.

According to the District Electoral Officer V. Shankar on Saturday, the number of candidates who are in the fray are as follows: Gowribidanur -16, Bagepalli - 27, Chickballapur -14, Sidlaghatta -11 and Chintamani -15.

More In: Karnataka | National