Just days ahead of the announcement of the Lok Sabha elections, the State government on Saturday reshuffled 12 senior IPS officers across the State, including IGP (North-eastern Range), Gulbarga, Mohammed Wazir Ahmed.

Mr. Ahmed, who was in the news after the shootout in Gulbarga in which police sub-inspector Mallikarjun Bande was killed, has been posted as Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Training, Bangalore, according to a notification issued by the government.

K.S.R. Charan Reddy has been posted as IGP, Special Investigation Team (SIT), Karnataka Lokayukta with additional charge of IGP, Vigilance, Water Resources Department, Bangalore. The SIT was formed to probe the illegal mining.

The other IPS officers transferred are Amar Kumar Pandey who has been posted as ADGP, Internal Security division, Bangalore; T. Suneel Kumar posted as ADGP, Directorate of Civil Rights Enforcement, Bangalore; C.H. Pratap Reddy posted as IGP and Secretary to Government, Home Department (PCAS), Bangalore; Suresh Kunhi Mohammed posted as IGP, North-eastern Range, Gulbarga; Ram Nivas Sepat posted as Superintendent of Police, Bijapur; Seemant Kumar Singh who will continue as IGP and Commander of Anti-Naxal Force, Karkala, Udupi, will take on additional charge as IGP, Western Range, Mangalore; Ajay Hillori transferred as Superintendent of Police, Kolar with additional charge as Superintendent of Police, KGF; Rohini Katoch Sepat posted as Superintendent of Police, Koppal; S.D. Saranappa posted as Superintendent of Police, Dakshina Kannada, Mangalore; K.T. Balakrishna has been transferred as Superintendent of Police, Gadag.


25 IAS, 22 IPS officers transferredJuly 6, 2013

More In: Karnataka | National