JD (S) releases list of 122 candidates

The Janata Dal (Secular) on Friday released its first list of 122 candidates for the ensuing elections to the Legislative Assembly.

The former Minister Narasimha Naik (Raju Gowda) and MLA Manappa Vajjal, who quit the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday, figure in the list. However, G.T. Deve Gowda and Parimala Nagappa, who had also quit the BJP, will contest from Chamundeshwari and Hanur respectively.

As expected, party State president H.D. Kumaraswamy is contesting from Ramanagaram, while his wife, Anitha, is contesting from Channapatna. The former Minister Bandeppa Kashempur (Bidar South), the former Union Minister of State for Railways Basanagouda Patil Yatnal (Bijapur City), the former Minister P.G.R. Sindhia (Kanakapura), Member of Parliament N. Chaluvarayaswamy (Nelamangala) and Madhu Bangarappa (Sorab) figure in the list.

Second rung leaders including Dalit leader D.G. Sagar, Iqbal Ansari, Thippeswamy and Zameer Ahmaa Khan (Chamarajpet) are contesting the Assembly election. While Raju Gowda will contest from Surpur, Mr. Vajjal will contest from Lingsugur. Srikanth, a leader from the Kuruba community, will be contesting against Deputy Chief Minister K.S. Eshwarappa in Shimoga. Another leader from the same community, H.T. Baligar, will be facing KJP leader B.S. Yeddyurappa from Shikaripur.

Mr. Kumaraswamy said that the party had tried to strike a balance between “winnability and social justice” and accorded representation to all castes and communities. The second list of another 102 candidates would be released in the next three days, he said, adding details of all the 122 candidates would be uploaded on the party’s official website.

Admitting Raju Gowda (Narasimha Nayak) to the party, Mr. Kumaraswamy said that Mr. Raju Gowda’s re-entry had strengthened the party, especially in the Hyderabad-Karnataka region. Mr. Vajjal, who quit BJP, will join the JD (S) on Saturday.

More In: Karnataka | National