Governor gives away Extraordinary Service Awards

Ten employees received the Extraordinary Service Award, introduced by the State government from this year to motivate its staff.

Governor H.R. Bhardwaj presented the awards at the Raj Bhavan on Saturday ahead of the ‘At Home’ ceremony’. The award is instituted as a multi-tier scheme, from district-level, department-level and State-level to recognise extraordinary and innovative work done by the employees, from Group ‘D’ to Group ‘A.” Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar said when the idea of instituting the award was placed before the cabinet, it was immediately accepted. Shalini Rajneesh, Secretary, Administrative Reforms, said six awards at district level with cash prize of Rs. 10,000 each, 30 awards at the department-level with Rs. 15,000 cash award and three awards at the State-level with Rs. 25,000 cash prize had been proposed.

Home Minister R. Ashok, Chief Secretary S.V. Ranganath, award committee member Vishweshwara Bhat, and Principal Secretaries to Chief Minister M. Lakshminarayana and Pradeep Singh Kharola were present.

More In: Karnataka | National