The 67th Independence Day turned out to be a momentous and historical occasion for the people of north Karnataka region in general and Belgaum in particular with the unfurling of the national flag at the Suvarna Vidhana Soudha at Halga-Bastwad here on Thursday.

J. Jayaram was all the more lucky to become the first Deputy Commissioner to unfurl the national flag at this second seat of the State Secretariat at around 6-45 a.m. The occasion, however, turned out to be an official affair and was marked by thin attendance, restricted mainly to few senior officials, which included the Superintendent of Police, Chandragupta and Executive Engineer of the Public Works Department, N.P. Naik.

The Suvarna Vidhana Soudha was constructed at a cost of more than Rs.390 crore and inaugurated by President Pranab Mukherjee on October 11 last year, which was followed by the first winter session of the Karnataka legislature later in December. The SVS was first proposed by the JD(S)-BJP government headed by the then Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy. But, it was the succeeding BJP government headed by B.S. Yeddyurappa which took up construction works and completed them before its five-year term.

However, Mr.Yeddyurappa was ousted as Chief Minister in view of a series of allegations of financial irregularities against him and could not realise his dream of celebrating its inauguration as a Chief Minister. His successor, D.V. Sadananda Gowda, too was not all that lucky as he was replaced by Jagdish Shettar. Thus, Mr. Shettar was Chief Minister at the time of inauguration of the SVS and also for the maiden winter session held at this second seat of the State Secretariat in Belgaum.

More In: Karnataka | National