The Congress is likely to emerge the single largest party in the Karnataka Assembly while the ruling BJP could end up a distant loser, exit polls and predictions by TV channels claimed.

The Congress will win over 110 seats and the BJP around 50 seats, according to the predictions. Polls also claimed that former Chief Minister B. S. Yeddyurappa’s Karnataka Janata Party will win just over ten seats.

According to estimates by CNN-IBN, the Congress is likely to get 110 to 116 seats in the elections to the 224-member House, while BJP may get between 43 and 53.

H. D. Deve Gowda-led JD(S) is also likely to get 43 to 53 seats, as per predictions revised by the channel following troubles in the Congress, such as choice of candidates and infighting. ‘Others’ are likely to get 16-24 seats.

In the current Assembly, the BJP has 110 MLAs — three short of majority — and rules the State with the help of five independent MLAs. The Congress has 80 seats and the JD(S), 28.

Headlines Today gave the Congress a wafer-thin majority with 114 seats and the BJP, 55 seats. The JD(S) may bag 34 seats while Yeddyurappa’s party will end up with 11 seats and ‘others’ nine.

Hindi channel ABP News gave the Congress 110 to 118 seats and claimed the BJP is likely to get 51 to 59 seats. The JD(S) was predicted to get 31 to 37 seats while KJP, 9 to 13.

Times Now predicted a whopping majority for the Congress and pegged its tally at 132, with the BJP and the JD(S) at a distant second with 38 seats each. The channel gave 15 to ‘others’, including KJP and independents.