The former Deputy Chief Minister K.S. Eshwarappa’s name is emerging prominently as a candidate from the Bharatiya Janata Party to the election to the Legislative Council from the Assembly constituency to be held in June.

This would mean that Mr. Eshwarappa will have a strong chance of becoming leader of the Opposition in the Upper House if D.V. Sadananda Gowda is elected to the Lok Sabha, the BJP leader said. Meanwhile, the BJP has finalised the names of three candidates for the elections to the Council for four seats. .

BJP State unit president Pralhad Joshi said on Monday that the party had finalised the names of Shashil G. Namoshi (Northeast Teachers constituency), Neelaiah (Bangalore Teachers constituency) and A.C. Shivayogiswamy (Southeast Graduates constituency). These names had been recommended to the party central election committee for clearance. The BJP took stock of the situation with respect to the Lok Sabha polls at a meeting of its highest decision-making body of the State core committee in Bangalore on Tuesday.

More In: Karnataka | National