The Central Election Committee and Screening Committee of the AICC will meet for two days commencing Tuesday in New Delhi to finalise the names of candidates for the remaining 47 Legislative Assembly constituencies, and the list would be released after the Congress president Sonia Gandhi gives her approval to it on Wednesday.

KPCC President G. Parameshwara and Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Siddaramaiah, who is recuperating after a minor surgery, are leaving for Delhi to take part in the crucial meetings which would decide the fate of Priyank Kharge, Roopa Shashidhar and Mansoor Ali Khan, children of the three Union Ministers M. Mallikarjun Kharge, K.H. Muniyappa and K. Rahman Khan, who want to contest from Chittapur, KGF and Jayanagar respectively.

The committees would also finalise the names of Ajay Singh, son of the former Chief Minister and MP N. Dharam Singh, fielding him from Jewargi in Gulbarga, KPCC treasurer and vice-president Shamanur Shivashankarappa from Davanagere South, which the Muslim voters from the area are demanding for a person of their community, the former Minister A. Krishnappa from Varthur for which Byrathi Basavaraju is a strong contender and Tejaswini Gowda in Bangalore South.

Mr. Siddaramaiah is reportedly demanding Bhadravati seat to his friend former union minister C.M. Ibrahim.

Interestingly, the former Railway Minister C.K. Jaffer Sharief is demanding that Jayanagar should be allocated to his grandson Rahman Sharief, the Other Backward Classes Department of the KPCC M.C. Venugopal is likely to get it.

More In: Karnataka | National