The Union Cabinet on Tuesday approved a notification for issuing Presidential order to establish a separate development board for Hyderabad-Karnataka region in Karnataka, which was given a special status under Article 371J of the Constitution by the parliament on December 20, 2012.

A new Article 371J was inserted in the Constitution through the Constitution (Ninety-Eighth Amendment) Bill, 2012, and the districts to be benefited are: Gulbarga, Bidar, Raichur, Koppal, Yadgir and the Bellary.

The development board will ensure equitable allocation of funds to meet the development needs of the region from the State Budget; promote employment from the region by providing for local cadres in service; and provide for reservation in educational and vocational training institutions.

The President will issue the notification — State of Karnataka (Special Responsibility of Governor for Karnataka-Hyderabad Region) Order, 2013.

The region will have provision for reservation in education and jobs for locals. Besides, the Centre and the State governments will provide special funds for the development .

More In: Karnataka | National | News