The first list is likely to be announced on March 26

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s core committee, comprising top leaders that met in Bangalore on Saturday, has finalised the names of candidates for about 100 Assembly constituencies, including those from Bangalore city.

According to party sources, the list is likely to be announced on March 26 after getting clearance from the party central election committee.

Meanwhile, the party is learnt to have decided to treat the issue of whether to give ticket to tainted personalities on a case-by-case basis. As part of its campaign strategy, the BJP has been stating that it has now become clean with those facing serious allegations, including former Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa severing links with it. This has given rise to a dilemma in the party on whether it should give ticket to some of its leaders such as Katta Subramanya Naidu, Krishnaiah Setty and Sampangi, who are facing serious corruption charges.

Demand for ticket

About 1,000 people, including senior party workers, came in a delegation on Saturday to the BJP head office in Bangalore and urged the party leadership to give ticket to Chickpet corporator A.L. Shivakumar to contest the Assembly polls from Gandhinagar constituency in Bangalore. They met State president Pralhad Joshi and the former Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda and pointed out that Mr. Shivakumar has nearly three decades of association with the party.

More In: Karnataka | National